

MINUTES

MEETING TITLE	APPROVED/PROTECTED Minutes of the 91st meeting of the London Blue Plaques Panel	
DATE	I October 2024 at I Iam	
LOCATION	English Heritage Offices, 100 Wood Street, London EC2V 7AN	
MEMBERS	Professor William Whyte (Chair) Sophie Anstee de Mas Professor Tilly Blyth Mihir Bose YolanDa Brown OBE DL Emily Gee	Alex Graham Professor Claire Harman Amy Lamé Dr Shini Somara Susie Thornberry
ATTENDEES	Janie Winter – observer – youth Panel member from Feb 2025 Matt Thompson – interim Curatorial Director Jeremy Ashbee – Head Historic Properties Curator Cathy Power – Blue Plaques Manager Rebecca Preston – Blue Plaques Historian Susan Skedd – Blue Plaques Historian Howard Spencer – Senior Historian, Blue Plaques Judeth Neville – Head of Governance (minutes)	
APOLOGIES	Prof. Richard Aldrich Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE Dr Simon Chaplin	Andrew Graham-Dixon Petroc Trelawny

*By Teams

Item I - Apologies, announcements and declarations of interest or any other business

- 1.1 The Chair welcomed Janie Winter and Dr Nick Merriman to their first panel meeting.
- 1.2 There were no new declarations of interest.

Item 2 - Minutes of the meeting held on 6 June 2024 and any matters arising

- 2.1 The Minutes were approved as a fair and accurate record.
- 2.2 There were no matters arising.

Item 3 - Chair's report (oral)

3.1 The Chair had received feedback on several nominations from those panel members sending apologies, to which he drew the panel's attention during discussions.

Item 4 - Curatorial Director's report (oral)

4.1 The interim Curatorial Director noted the launch of the National Plaque scheme being taken forward by Historic England. An annual meeting is planned of Historic England and English Heritage Panel Chairs with representatives from both plaques teams to review consistency of approach and delivery.

4.2 He noted thanks to panel members who had acted as speakers at recent plaque installations and unveilings and outlined recent Blue Plaques team activity including podcast recordings.

Item 5 - Preliminary considerations

5.1 Under its terms of reference, the Blue Plaques Panel advises English Heritage on the erection of blue plaques. The Panel considered 30 preliminary cases as follows:

Sir Edward Maufe (né Muff) (1883–1974)

The panel's decision was to defer consideration for further research.

Wing Commander Brendan 'Paddy' Finucane (1920–42)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Joe (Marion Barbara) Carstairs (1900–93)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Amherst Villiers (1900–91) The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Edwin Long (1829–91)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Pamela Colman Smith (1878-1951)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Florence Fenwick Miller (1854–1935)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Norman Warne (1868–1905)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Kathleen Raine (1908–2003)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

E. Arnot Robertson (1903-61)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Harriet Cohen (1895–1967)

The panel's decision was to defer consideration to a future meeting.

Burkat Shudi (1702–73) The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Amy Woodforde-Finden (1860–1919)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Harry Relph 'Little Tich' (1867-1928)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Elsie Hooper, later Higgen (1879–1969)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Mirza Tahir Ahmad (1928-2003)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sir Muhammad Zafrulla Khan (1893–1985)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Emily Hobhouse (1860–1926)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Edith How Martyn (1874–1954)

The panel's decision was to defer consideration for further research.

Anton Wallich-Clifford (1923–1978)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Margaret Bondfield (1873-1953)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Edith Summerskill, Baroness Summerskill (1901–1980)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Hastings Bertrand Lees-Smith (1878-1941)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Muriel Box (1905–1991)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist, but that the case could be reopened on request after five years rather than the usual ten.

Satyajit Ray (1921–1992)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Dorothy Tutin (1930–2001) The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Clara Ludski (1862–1933) The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Leonard Shuffrey (1852–1926)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

John Morrison Davidson (1843-1916)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Biba (fl. 1964-75)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Item 6 – Final reports

This item is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

Item 7 - Any other business

7.1 None.

Information papers:

- London blue plaques eligibility criteria
- Public relations update
- London blue plaques programme: progress report (protected)

Minutes: J Neville 1/10/24