

MINUTES

MEETING TITLE	PUBLIC Minutes of the 90th meeting of the London Blue Plaques Panel	
DATE	6 June 2024 at I I am	
LOCATION	English Heritage Offices, 100 Wood Street, London EC2V 7AN	
MEMBERS	Professor William Whyte (Chair) Professor Richard Aldrich Sophie Anstee de Mas Professor Tilly Blyth Mihir Bose YolanDa Brown OBE DL Dr Gus Casely-Hayford OBE	Dr Simon Chaplin Alex Graham Andrew Graham-Dixon Professor Claire Harman Amy Lamé Dr Shini Somara Susie Thornberry
ATTENDEES	Matt Thompson – interim Curatorial Director Jeremy Ashbee – Head Historic Properties Curator Cathy Power – Blue Plaques Manager Rebecca Preston – Blue Plaques Historian Susan Skedd – Blue Plaques Historian Howard Spencer – Senior Historian, Blue Plaques Judeth Neville – Head of Governance (minutes)	
APOLOGIES	Emily Gee	Petroc Trelawny

Item I - Apologies, announcements and declarations of interest or any other business

1.1 There were no new declarations of interest.

Item 2 - Minutes of the meeting held on 8 February 2024 and any matters arising

- 2.1 The Minutes were approved as a fair and accurate record.
- 2.2 There were no matters arising.

Item 3 - Chair's report (oral)

3.1 The Chair noted the proposals for appointing a new youth member for the Panel when Sophie Anstee de Mas steps down.

Item 4 - Curatorial Director's report (oral)

- 4.1 The interim Curatorial Director updated the Panel on work to align the London blue plaques eligibility and selection criteria with the criteria for the Historic England national scheme.
- 4.2 Andrew Graham-Dixon outlined the inclusion of images of blue plaques in a Sotheby's exhibition which he has co-curated.

A further update from the Curatorial Director is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

Item 5 - Preliminary considerations

5.1 Under its terms of reference, the Blue Plaques Panel advises English Heritage on the erection of blue plaques. The Panel considered 22 preliminary cases as follows:

Vera Atkins (1908-2000)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Marie-Madeleine Fourcade (1909-1989

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Beryl Gilroy (1924-2001)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Kenneth Armitage (1916–2002)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Eleanor Fortescue-Brickdale (1872–1945)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Frederick William Pomeroy (1856–1924)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

William Witherington (1785–1865)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Stanley Owen Green (1915–1993)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Zoe, Lady Hart Dyke (1896-1975)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Sara Coleridge (1802–1852)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Catherine Amy Dawson Scott (1865-1934)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Lionel Bart (1930–1999) The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Elisabeth Lutyens (1906–1983) The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Ethel Smyth (1858–1944) The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Harry Price (1881–1948) The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Ann Hogarth (1910–1993) The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

The British Ladies' Football Club

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Judy Garland (1922–1969)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Carol Reed (1907–1976)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Syrie Maugham (1879–1955)

The panel's decision was to shortlist.

Joan Thirkettle (1947-1996)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

William Fitzmaurice Pierse (1803-1846)

The panel's decision was not to shortlist.

Item 6 - Final reports

This item is included in a protected appendix to these minutes as it contains information that is potentially protected from public access.

Item 7 – Any other business

7.1 None.

Information papers:

- London blue plaques eligibility criteria
- Public relations update
- London blue plaques programme: progress report (protected)
- Panel recommendations awaiting final report (protected)

Minutes: J Neville 6.6.24