You are using an old version of Internet Explorer. It may not display all the features of this and other websites. To improve security and online experience, please use a different browser or
update Internet Explorer
Landguard Fort defends the approach to Harwich Harbour, a safe haven for shipping. It was the site of the last opposed seaborne invasion of England, by the Dutch in 1667, who were repulsed by the Royal Marines in their first land battle. The current fort was built in the 18th century, and modified in the 19th century, with substantial additional 19th and 20th-century outside batteries. It was manned through both World Wars and played an important anti-aircraft role during the Second World War. In 1951 two of the old gun casemates were converted nto a 'Cold War' control room. The fort was disarmed and closed in 1956.
Guided tours and audio tours of the fort are supplemented by an audio-visual presentation of the site’s history, and by guided tours of the outside batteries.
Discovering the rich military and maritime heritage of the fort exploring the maze of rooms and passageways
Climbing up to the Harwich Bastion for splendid views across the Port of Felixstowe
Discovering an explosive story of gunpowder and mines in the magazines
Visiting Felixstowe Museum which is housed in the neighbouring 1878-built Submarine Mining Establishment. Its collection brings alive the military and social history of the town. On production of their membership card there, English Heritage members are entitled to a 20% discount on an adult ticket (this offer is not valid on special event days).